Stripe vs. Paypal

Stripe vs. Paypal: What is better for my online store?

 

Web agencies are always discussing an important topic: which payment options does a professional online store need and which of the two payment services is the better one: Stripe or Paypal? destinazio builds your online store according to your needs – quickly and reliably.

 

So let’s start the comparison of Stripe and PayPal:

 

1:0 to Stripe for transaction fees

The first thing to consider before adding new software or services to your business is how much it will cost. However, as luck would have it, both PayPal and Stripe are free to use – at least if you are satisfied with the basic features. Signing up is easy. Just enter your account details and you’re ready to go. There is nothing to pay to initiate services and no monthly fees to be charged.

 

If you’re worried about having to track what fees you’re faced with due to the origin of your purchases or a high frequency of returns or chargebacks, Stripe will end up being the best option for you.

 

2:0 to Stripe for payment method

The payment methods are very important for the choice of the payment service. This is the real reason why an online store needs this connection at all. They want to offer their customers the full range of payment options in order not to lose them at checkout. In terms of payment methods, Stripe and Paypal are almost the same:

 

PayPal currently accepts the following methods:

– PayPal

– PayPal Credit

– credit cards

– debit cards

– pay phone

Some payment methods are only available based on the selected price level, so be sure to pay close attention before signing up. For example, with the Payments Pro Plan, you can only receive pay-by-pay phone payments for virtual terminals.

 

If you are concerned about this restriction on payment methods, you may prefer to use Stripe because it accepts a large number of payment methods. These include:

– Credit cards

– debit cards

– American Express

– Masterpass with MasterCard

– WeChat

– AliPay

– Apple Pay

– Google Pay

– ACH Credit and Debit

– SEPA Direct Debit Scheme

 

Further payment methods are added for Stripe. While PayPal customers want to see the PayPal logo on your website, proving that you can accept payments from a number of recognizable and trusted financial institutions is a significant competitive advantage. In our opinion, Stripe’s list of accepted payments is the most attractive option, especially for companies to accept payments from customers around the world – especially if you want to be internationally active.

 

2:1 PayPal’s first point for speed

This point is quickly explained: PayPal transfers the money from the orders faster to you as a shop operator. With PayPal payments are transferred to you within one working day (typically), so there is not much waiting time. With Stripe, it can take around two days for your customers’ payments to be transferred. You can also automate the process and create Stripe deposits on your account on a weekly or monthly basis.

 

3:2 a draw in security features

Both payment services comply with the latest security standards and international specifications. A draw on this point for a score of 3:2 to Stripe.

 

4:3 both are very customer friendly

We have also found the two gateways to be undecided in terms of user-friendliness. Stripe and PayPal are both very easy to use, so you won’t lose your customers at checkout. A usability draw for a final score of 4:3 to Stripe.

 

Final score: Stripe wins 4:3 against PayPal.

Stripe offers you a variety of other payment options. These are particularly important assets for global trading. The transaction fees are also slightly lower with Stripe. But you get the proceeds from your sold articles credited a little later – which is a plus point for PayPal. With the security standards and the customer friendliness you can’t go wrong with either service.

Béatrice Boucher

Stripe vs. Paypal

Stripe vs. Paypal: Was ist besser für meinen Webshop?

Webagenturen diskutieren immer wieder dieses Thema: Welche Bezahloptionen braucht ein professioneller Webshop und welcher der zwei Bezahldienste ist der bessere: Stripe oder Paypal? Übrigens: destinazio baut Ihren Webshop ganz nach Ihren Bedürfnissen – schnell und zuverlässig.

Starten wir also den Vergleich von Stripe und PayPal:

 

1:0 für Stripe bei den Transaktionsgebühren

Das erste, was Sie in Betracht ziehen, bevor Sie neue Software oder Dienstleistungen zu Ihrem Unternehmen hinzufügen, ist, wieviel es kosten wird. Wie der Zufall es wollte, sind jedoch sowohl PayPal als auch Stripe frei verwendbar – zumindest, wenn Sie mit den Basisfunktionen zufrieden sind. Die Anmeldung ist einfach. Geben Sie einfach die Kontodaten ein und schon kann es losgehen. Es gibt nichts zu zahlen, um Dienstleistungen zu initiieren und keine monatlichen Gebühren, die erhoben werden.

Wenn Sie sich allerdings Sorgen machen, dass Sie aufpassen müssen, mit welchen Gebühren Sie aufgrund der internationalen Einkäufe oder einer hohen Frequenz von Rücksendungen oder Rückbuchungen konfrontiert werden, wird Stripe am Ende die beste Option für Sie sein. Stripe bietet Ihnen bei der Gebührenstruktur einige kleinere Vorteile.

 

2:0 für Stripe nach Bezahlmethoden

Ganz wichtig für die Wahl des Bezahl-Services sind die Bezahlmethoden. Dies ist der eigentliche Grund, warum ein Webshop diese Anbindung überhaupt braucht: Man will seinen Kunden die volle Bandbreite an Bezahloptionen anbieten, um ihn beim Checkout nicht zu verlieren. Bei den Zahlungsmitteln sind Stripe und Paypal wiederum fast gleich auf:

Derzeit akzeptiert PayPal die folgenden Methoden:

  • PayPal
  • PayPal Credit
  • Kreditkarten
  • Debitkarten
  • Pay-by-phone

Einige Zahlungsarten sind nur auf der Grundlage der gewählten Preisstufe verfügbar, also achten Sie genau darauf, bevor Sie sich anmelden.

Wenn Sie diese Einschränkung der Zahlungsarten beunruhigt, dann könnten Sie Stripe bevorzugen, da es eine große Anzahl von Zahlungsarten akzeptiert. Dazu gehören:

  • Kreditkarten
  • Debitkarten
  • American Express
  • Masterpass mit MasterCard
  • WeChat
  • AliPay
  • Apple Pay
  • Google Pay
  • ACH Kredit und Debit
  • SEPA-Lastschriftverfahren

Weitere Zahlungsmethoden kommen für Stripe dazu. Während PayPal-Nutzer das PayPal-Logo auf Ihrer Website sehen möchten, ist der Nachweis, dass Sie Zahlungen von einer ganzen Reihe von erkennbaren und vertrauenswürdigen Finanzinstituten akzeptieren können, ein wichtiger Wettbewerbsvorteil. Unserer Meinung nach ist die Liste der akzeptierten Zahlungen von Stripe die attraktivste Option – gerade, wenn Sie international aktiv sein wollen.

 

2:1 Anschlusstreffer für PayPal bei der Schnelligkeit

Dieser Punkt ist schnell erklärt: PayPal überweist Ihnen als Shopbetreiber das Geld aus den Bestellungen schneller. Mit PayPal werden Zahlungen innerhalb eines Werktages (typischerweise) an Sie überwiesen, so dass es nicht viel Wartezeit gibt. Mit Stripe kann es etwa zwei Tage dauern, bis die Zahlungen Ihrer Kunden überwiesen werden. Sie können den Prozess auch automatisieren und Stripe-Einlagen auf Ihrem Konto in einem wöchentlichen oder monatlichen Rhythmus anlegen.

 

3:2 – ein Unentschieden bei den Security-Features

Beide Bezahldienste stimmen mit den modernsten Sicherheitsstandards und den internationalen Vorgaben überein. Ein Unentschieden in diesem Punkt führt kurz vor Schluss zu einem leichten Vorteil für Stripe.

 

4:3 – beide sind sehr kundenfreundlich

Auch bei der Nutzerfreundlichkeit der beiden Gateways stellen wir ein Unentschieden fest. Stripe und PayPal sind beide sehr einfach zu bedienen, so dass Sie Ihre Kunden beim Checkout nicht verlieren werden. Ein Unentschieden bei der Usability führt zu einem Endstand von 4:3 für Stripe.

 

Endstand: Stripe gewinnt mit 4:3 gegenüber PayPal

Stripe bietet Ihnen eine Vielzahl an weiteren Bezahloptionen. Diese sind gerade für den weltweiten Handel ein wichtiges Asset. Die Transaktionsgebühren sind bei Stripe ebenfalls etwas günstiger. Dafür bekommen Sie die Erlöse aus Ihren verkauften Artikeln aber etwas später gutgeschrieben – was einen Pluspunkt für PayPal darstellt. Bei den Sicherheitsstandards und der Kundenfreundlichkeit können Sie mit beiden Diensten nichts falsch machen.

Béatrice Boucher